As a member of Lake Region Electric Association, Inc., you have joined over 2,700 other co-op member-owners in membership in a locally controlled corporation, chartered by the State of South Dakota on April 9, 1941. Lake Region Electric Association (LREA) serves members in Marshall, Day and portions of Roberts counties. The office of Lake Region Electric is located at 1212 Main Street in Webster.

LREA functions to safely purchase, transmit and distribute electric energy and provide services to its members. Nearly a third of the power Lake Region Electric distributes, via East River Electric Power Cooperative based in Madison, South Dakota and Basin Electric Power Cooperative based in North Dakota, comes from renewable energy sources such as wind and hydro power. Basin Electric Power Cooperative generates the power and uses transmissions lines to carry the power to East River Electric Cooperative transmission lines. It flows along East River Electric transmission lines to the substations where Lake Region Electric lines distribute the power to our member-owners. 

The association is operated on a non-profit cooperative basis, for the sole use and benefit of its member-owners.

At the annual meetings, the members elect directors to whom they entrust the responsibility of operating your cooperative through a hired staff. Your cooperative is not an agency of any local, state or federal government.